Review time

“Dream On” by Terry Tyler

Oh god, I know what it’s like. Not aspiring to become a rock star, I mean, as I can’t carry a tune to save my life. I do play a semi-mean clarinet, though – although, I’m not sure that has a place on the rock scene. But the big dreams, is what I mean, and all the ups and downs that go with them. The high hopes, the feeling of utter and complete failure, the what’s-the-goddamn-point-anyway to the surge of renewed creativity, making you take down the dream from the shelf and dive right back in.

I was a rock chick when I was a teenager, still am – mostly. Listened to … yes, Bon Jovi, Guns’n’Roses, Poison, Skid Row, Mötley Crew, Warrant – and I dreamed about the long haired rock stars (OMG, be still my beating heart and damp knickers), so this was a wonderful and sometimes sort of nostalgic read, even if the story does take place in present time.

Terry Tyler’s writing is witty, very perceptive and a pleasure to read. The dialogue is realistic and the characters loveable in spite of their flaws. But it is the flaws that make them so interesting, like Shane and Melodie – they were hilarious at times. And Dave. Sweet sweet Dave. “They weren’t so different from Vikings, were they? Apart from the fact that they were the conquered, rather than the invaders, of course. Kind of a massive difference, really.” That’s right, Dave ;) Ha ha, love him!

There were a few times, though, towards the end, with certain characters, that I felt the story slowed a bit, making my interest fade ever so slightly. Fortunately, they were followed by Shane going on a show or Ariel getting a very special visitor in her dressing room.

All in all, another great read from Terry Tyler’s hand. Bought the sequel “Full Circle”- so I’m all set for my next fix. Can’t wait!

Buy the book on Amazon

Read more about it on Goodreads

One thought on “Review time

Talk to me

